Today is: Thursday, December 5, 2019
National Award-winning,
Family-run Newspaper

Established 1891
Callicoon, NY | 845-887-5200
Monticello, NY | 845-794-7942
To immediately access any story, please enter the Story Number in the above box.
Thursday, December 5, 2019

Sports > General

McCollum, Roth earn big wins at Bethel's ‘Legendstock'

Aug 8, 2019

By: Sean Hart Racing photos
Legend Stock division winners with Guitar Trophies, from left, Young Loin winner: Tucker Jones, Semi-Pro winner: Sean Verwys, Bandolero Winner: Mike Roth, Masters.
WHITE LAKE -- This past Saturday found Bethel's INEX sanctioned classes in the spotlight as the speedway hosted its annual ‘Legendstock' night sponsored by Alliance Shippers along with the weekly NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. ‘Legendstock' is one of the Northeast region's biggest Legends division races of the season. The race which began in 2008 has seen top tier racing stars Daniel Hemric and William Byron winning the event earlier in their careers' and the race has proved to be a pivotal career builder in a race driver's resume.
The fifty lap ‘Legendstock' national qualifier featured found Canadian hotshoe Nick Ledson jumping out to the early lead over top New Jersey racers Alex McCollum and Matt Maring. Lap 5 found Maring and Long Island racer Kevin Nowak working by McCollum on the inside lane. A couple laps later the first caution came out for a turn four crash involving rookie Anthony Bello, Maryland racer Chris Hammett, and New York racer Colin Hoeffner all losing laps in the melee.

The restart found Ledson still in control but Nowak outgunning Maring to take over second. Lap 19 saw the yellow waving for a tangle involving upstate New York ace Daniel Carter and North Carolina racer Tyler Lester. The following restart saw McCollum the 2016 Legendstock winner getting by Maring to get back into third position. McCollum then began to work on Nowak and put on the pressure for several laps before making a pass stick for good at the halfway point. Lap 27 found the ‘big one' crash going into turn 1 knocking track regulars James Anderson and Anthony Bello from the event along with Quinn Trimmer.
The restart proved to be a pivotal point in the race as McCollum and Nowak were able to muscle their way past the fast running Ledson dropping him to third. Another crash on the frontstretch involving Carter and Hoeffner knocked both cars from the event. The race found a long green flag stretch from Lap 34 to the end with Ledson getting stronger in the longer run and nosing by Nowak to take second spot back on Lap 40. Ledson then went after McCollum, but the leader negotiated lap traffic perfectly as he came to the checkers two car lengths ahead of Ledson and Nowak. Post-race tech found the rear track width on Ledson's car too wide which awarded Nowak back to second with Maring finishing in third.
Afterwards in Victory Lane, Alex McCollum was the overall winner for the second time in his career. Kevin Nowak was the Masters feature winner. Pennsylvania racer Sean Verwys finished sixth and was awarded the Semi-Pro win. 11th place finisher Tucker Jones from Virginia made his long tow worthwhile as he picked up the Young Lion trophy. Heat race wins were collected by Nowak, Carolina racer Dillon Spain, and Verwys. McCollum was the ‘fast timer' in qualifying. Current track point leader, Eugene Drew took home the B-Main victory and finished ninth in the main. Chris Gall and Raven Schrantz were the ‘hard chargers' of the night each advancing twelve spots from their starting positions.
The Bandolero special event feature started off on the wrong foot when pole starting rookie Ty Smith got loose going into turn one at the drop of the green making hard contact with outside pole sitter Brian Rygielski setting off a crash involving six cars and knocking Virginia racer Tristian McKee and Connecticut racer Joey LaMontagne out of the feature. The new front row was now former track champion Mike Roth and current point leader Joey Aungst.
The two drivers put on an outstanding duel racing against each other in the long-distance event. Often racing side by side and swapping the lead back and forth several times. Two late race cautions for spins, brought some additional drama to the young racers but Roth stayed cool under pressure despite the determined Aungst's efforts to complete an outside pass to make it stick. At the checkers, it was Roth by half a car length over Aungst in his Sullivan Engine # 8 picking up his second win of the season. Smith rallied late in the race from the back of the pack to finish in third.
Check out the NASCAR Whelen All American Series excitement with grassroots short track racing as Energy Star Dave sponsors their Saturday, August 10 ‘Tie Dye Tornado' a racing celebration commemorating '50 Years of Woodstock' which was held just three miles from the track in August of 1969. All regular divisions are racing.
The night will highlight the Four Cylinder division as they compete in their annual ‘Hippie Bowl' a 50 Lap double points event paying $400 to Win. Also, the ATQMRA TQ Midget Series and Long Island Vintage Auto Racing Series will be traveling to the track to join the festivities. Fans are urged to wear your favorite tie dye and flashback to 1969! Racing begins at 6:30 p.m. For more info, visit

‘Legendstock' INEX A-Main Feature: 1. Alex McCollum, Phillipsburg, NJ 2. Kevin Nowak 3. Matt Maring 4. Joe Graf Jr. 5. Peter Bennett 6. Sean Verwys 7. Joe Graf Sr. 8. Richie Coy 9. Eugene Drew 10. Allan Pedersen 11. Tucker Jones 12. Chris Gall 13. Raven Schrantz 14. Jerry Curran 15. Tanner Jones 16. Conner Piasecki 17. Chris Hammett 18. Dillon Spain 19. Daniel Carter 20. Tyler Lester 21. Colin Hoeffner 22. Jonathan Parsons 23. Quinn Trimmer 24. James Anderson 25. Anthony Bello DQ. Nick Ledson (Track Width) DNQ: Mike Benton, Jacob Curran, Dave Stohmeyer, Jack Polan, Jeffrey Lefcourt
Bandolero Feature: 1. Mike Roth, North Branch, NY 2. Joey Aungst 3. Ty Smith 4. Evan Rygielski 5. Brian Rygielski 6. Monika Deckelman 7. Katie Verwys 8. Sawyer Reiss 9. Justin Aungst 10. Aiden Hills 11. Kaden Rogers 12. Sean McElearney 13. Tristian McKee 14. Joey LaMontagne
BMS Asphalt Modified Feature: 1. Ed Dachenhausen, Danbury, CT 2. Skip LaPolt 3. Tyler Dachenhausen 4. Dan Archiere 5. Mike Dutka 6. Joe DeGracia 7. John Cote
Street Stock Feature: 1. Bill Deak Jr. Bantam, CT 2. Brian Bauernfeind 3. Kyle Welsch 4. Bill Deak Sr. 5. Joel Murns 6. David Donovan 7. Tom Ciluruso Jr. 8. Chris Peloso 9. Patty Falkena 10. Frank Maiori 11. Dan Houghtaling 12. Scott Sepe
Four Cylinder Pure Stock Feature: 1. Jerry Kingeter, Hasbrouck, NY 2. Dan Curry 3. Nick Curry 4. Tisha Curry 5. Nicole Nelson 6. Bruce Illenberg 7. George VanAken 8. Ivan Guerra 9. Shawn Maloney
Beg. Bandos Feature: 1. Isaiah Anderson, Waverly, NY

Copyright © 2019 - Sullivan County Democrat